

I	\supset	ress
н		

Release

Title	Winner of the Nam June Paik Art Center Prize 2018		
Inquiry	Curation Office Inquiry About the Prize Hyun Jeung Kim (curator) (t. 031-201-8 About Interviews: Yeon-seop Kang (coordinator) (t. 031-201-8		
Press Release	Download as link in email		
Release Date	October 29, 2018	10 pages	

2018 Nam June Paik Art Center Prize: Trevor Paglen



■ Prize Ceremony: Friday, 30 November 2018

Nam June Paik Art Center

10 Paiknamjune-ro Giheung-gu Yongin-si Gyeonggi-do 17068, Korea

www.njpartcenter.kr



Nam June Paik Art Center is pleased to announce that the Selection Committee of Nam June Paik Art Center Prize has selected Trevor Paglen(b.1974, USA) as the winner of the 2018 Prize. KimHong-hee, head of The Selection Committee said, "Paglen allusively exposes the secret surveillance equipment of the military and intelligence organizations by means of different mediums such as photography, video, sculpture and installation. Starting from *Drone Vision* to his recent work *A Study of Invisible Images* with its enigmatic paradox of "invisible image," his series of demapping and remapping unveils the digital world's contradiction and internal violence in a political and metaphorical way." Jin Suk Suh, director of Nam June Paik Art Center, one of the Selection Committee members, commented as follows: "Trevor Paglen has studied and interpreted the infrastructures of our society's invisible politics, cultural surveillance and technopower. At the same time, he has constantly suggested a future vision with his own unique attitude for creative work."

The winner, Trevor Paglen, has expressed, "it's an incredible honor to be awarded the Nam June Paik Art Center Prize. Nam June Paik was an incredible visionary, an artist who taught us how to see a rapidly changing world, and a huge inspiration to me personally. To be recognized in relation to Nam June Paik is truly one of the greatest honor I can imagine." Paglen will be awarded KRW50,000,000, and have the opportunity to hold a solo exhibition at Nam June Paik Art Center in 2019. Paglen will be invited to Korea on the 30th of November 2018 for the Prize Ceremony and special talk.

The Nam June Paik Art Center Prize was established in 2009. Since its inception, the Prize has been awarded to artists and theorists whose works are very much in tune with Paik's work amalgamating art and technology, pursuing new ways of communication, interacting with audiences, and fusing and conflating music, performance and visual art. The first Prize was awarded in 2009 to four artists, Seung-Taek Lee, Eun-Me Ahn, Ceal Floyer, and Robert Adrian X; philosopher and sociologist Bruno Latour won the 2010 Prize; the 2012 Prize went to artist Doug Aitken; the winner of the 2014 Prize was Haroon Mirza and the 2016 Prize went to artist collective Blast Theory.

For Nam June Paik Art Center Prize, ten Nominating Committee members proposed ten candidates respectively; a separate Selection Committee reviewed ten candidates and selected the final winner.

The Nominating Committee members were:

- Sung Won Kim (Artistic Director, Asia Culture Center, Korea)
- Hae-Ju Kim (Deputy Director, Art Sonje Center, Korea)
- Tobias Berger (Artistic Director, Tai Kwun, Hong Kong)
- Alexie-Glass Kantor (Director, Art Space, Australia)
- Mark B.N. Hansen (Media Critic/Professor, Duke University, USA)
- Philipp Ziegler (Chief Curator, ZKM center for Art and Media, Germany)



- Omar Kholief (Independent Curator, Egypt)
- Curatorial Department (Nam June Paik Art Center, Korea)

■ The Selection Committee members were:

- Kim Hong-hee (Art Critic/ Former Director, Seoul Museum of Art, Korea)
- Jin Suk Suh (Director, Nam June Paik Art Center, Korea)
- Jonathan Watkins (Director, IKON Gallery, UK)
- Mami Kataoka (Chief Curator, Mori Art Museum, Japan)
- Inke Arns (Director, Hartware MedienKunstVerein, Germany)

■ Special Talk and Prize Ceremony

- Special Talk: 3pm, 30 November 2018

- Prize Ceremony: 5pm, 30 November 2018

For press enquiries, contact:

www.njpartcenter.kr / T +82 31 201 8559 / F +82 31 201 8548 / E. excitinglunch@njpartcenter.kr







History of the Nam June Paik Art Center Prize

First Prize (2009)

- Winners: Seung-taeck Lee, Eun-me Ahn, Ceal Foyer and Robert Adrian X
- Jurors
 - Jurors for International Artists

Hank Bull (director of Centre A in Vancouver)

Do-ryeon Jeong (assistant curator at the Museum of Modern Art)

Udo Kittelmann (director of the Old National Gallery in Berlin)

Tetsuo Kogawa (artist / professor at Ryutsu Keizai University)

Barbara Vanderlinden (independent curator)

▶ Jurors for Korean Artists

Jeong Hwa Choi (artist / director of Heart Visual Development Institute)

Mi-kyung Kim (professor at the college of fine arts at Kangnam University)

Geun-jun Lim (art & design critic)

Seong-min Hong (artist / professor at the college of plastic arts of Kaywon University of Art & Design)

Young-cheol Lee (director of Nam June Paik Art Center)

Second Prize (2010)

- Winner: Bruno Latour (professor at Sciences Po)
- Jurors

Xavier Douroux (director of le Consortium)

Anne-Marie Duguet (professor at Pantheon-Sorbonne University)

Wulf Herzogenrath (director of Kunsthalle Bremen)

Wan-kyung Seong (professor at Inha University / former director of the Gwangju Biennale)



Third Prize (2012)

■ Winner: Doug Aitken

■ Jurors

▶ Nomination Committee

Stephanie Rosenthal (chief curator at Hayward Gallery)

Tobias Berger (curator at M+)

Suk-kyung Lee (curator at Tate Liverpool)

Ji-suk Baek (director of Atelier Hermès)

Sung-hee Kim (director of FestivalBo:m)

▶ Jurors

Tae-hee Kang (professor at Korea National University of Arts)

Ra-young Hong (vice-director of Leeum)

Bart De Baere (director of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Antwerp)

Fourth Prize (2014)

■ Winner: Haroon Mirza

■ Jury

▶ Nomination Committee

Kazunao Abe (curator / artistic director of Yamaguchi Center for Arts and Media)

David Joselit (art historian / critic / professor at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York)

Jang-eon Kim (curator / head of curation team 2 at the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Seoul)

Hyun-seok Seo (artist / professor at the communication graduate school of Yonsei University)

Kyunghwa Ahn (curator / head of the curation team at Nam June Paik Art Center)

Jurors

Mike Stubbs (director of FACT)

Nobuo Nakamura (director of CCA Kitakyushu)

Seon-jeong Kim (deputy director of Art Sonje Center)

Gyu-cheol Ahn (artist / professor at Korea National University of Arts)

Man-woo Park (director of Nam June Paik Art Center)



Fifth Prize (2016)

■ Winner: Blast Theory

■ Jury

▶ Nomination Committee

Fumihiko Sumitomo (director of Arts Maebashi)

Catherine Wood (senior curator in charge of performances at Tate Modern in the UK)
Rudolf Frieling (curator in charge of media art at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art)
Young-jun Lee (professor at the convergence arts department at Kaywon University of Art
& Design)

Kyunghwa Ahn (curator / head of the curation team at Nam June Paik Art Center)

Jurors

Jin-seok Seo (director of Nam June Paik Art Center)

Bartomeu Marí Ribas (director of the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art)

Jeffrey Shaw (Dean of the School of Creative Media at City University of Hong Kong)

Nicolas de Oliveira (director in charge of research and special projects at Montabonel & Partners)

So-young Roh (director of Art Center Nabi)